BAFA NL Expansion and 2016 Opponents Announced

29 Nov

The British American Football Association (BAFA) have announced an expansion of Division 1 of the National League from 16 to 18 teams, and the creation of MFC1 (Midland Football Conference 1).

The Eagles have been placed in MFC1 along with 2015 opponents Birmingham Bulls, as well Doncaster Mustangs, Nottingham Caesars, Peterborough Saxons and Sandwell Steelers.

Each team will face each conference opponent home and away to make up a ten-game regular season schedule, meaning that unlike in 2015 there will be no inter-conference games.

2015 opponents Hertfordshire Cheetahs, Colchester Gladiators and Hampshire Thrashers have all been placed in South Football Conference 1.

The provisional 2016 regular season schedule is expected to be announced early in the New Year.

2016 Play-Off Structure

For the 2016 season the top eight teams in Division 1 will progress to the play-offs, which will consist of the top two teams in each of the three conferences (NFC1, MFC1, SFC1) plus the two third-placed teams with the best record.

These play-offs will be ranked nationally, and in the first round will see:

#1 hosting #8
#2 hosting #7
#3 hosting #6
#4 hosting #5

The National Bowl finalists will both be promoted to the Premier Division, and will be inserted on a regional basis. This permits two teams from the same conference being promoted if they are able to earn a Bowl spot.

BAFA have also announced that the structure for Division 2 will not be confirmed until the Associate process for 2016 entry is completed next month, however it was confirmed that Cambridgeshire Cats, Chester Romans, East Kent Mavericks and Shropshire Revolution will be competing in Division 2 next season.

2016 BAFA NL Structure (Division 1 Expansion)

North Football Conference 1 (NFC1)
– Clyde Valley Blackhawks
– Edinburgh Wolves
– Gateshead Senators
– Manchester Titans
– West Coast Trojans
– Yorkshire Rams

Midlands Football Conference 1 (MFC1)
– Birmingham Bulls
– Doncaster Mustangs
– Nottingham Caesars
– Ouse Valley Eagles
– Peterborough Saxons
– Sandwell Steelers

South Football Conference 1 (SFC1)
– Bury Saints
– Colchester Gladiators
– Hertfordshire Cheetahs
– Kent Exiles
– Solent Thrashers
– Sussex Thunder

Check back for a closer look at the Eagles’ 2016 opponents on in the coming days.