2016 Captains Named

14 Mar

Linebacker Gareth Pullen, Cornerback Chris Parr, Wide Receiver Ross Hubbard and Offensive Lineman Danny Cousins have been named Captains for the 2016 season.

Defensive Captains Pullen and Parr are vastly experienced players and joined the Eagles in their inception, with Pullen being named 2015 Defensive MVP. Offensive Captains Hubbard and Cousins meanwhile are both second-year players with the Eagles, Cousins being named 2015 Rookie of the Year.

Commenting on the appointments, Offensive Coordinator Neale McMaster said:

Since our inception in 2013 our coaching staff have picked the captains based on commitment, personality and leadership abilities, and this year marks the first time the players have voted for the club captains themselves.

I’m absolutely delighted with the choices. I think these guys are clear leaders in the locker room, and people the players can look up to. They lead the players not just by performance, but by example.

I’m also very proud of each of these four players, who have really developed themselves as well as their game over the last two years, and I feel confident will be able to leave their mark on the team.

Defensive Coordinator Darren Hill added:

This is just reward for the tremendous effort they have put in both on and off the field and I have no doubt the players have made the right choice.

The first game of the season takes place on Sunday 10th April (1.30pm) when the Eagles travel to face the Sandwell Steelers. The first home game of the year is against the Nottingham Caesars two weeks later, kicking off at midday.

Keep up-to-date with the latest news, squad details and events with out new mobile app for iOS and Android:

  • App Store
  • Google Play Store