NEWS | 2017 Award winners revealed

30 Sep

The Ouse Valley Eagles and Bedford Blackhawks 2017 Player of the Year Awards took place last night at Revolution Milton Keynes.

For the Bedford Blackhawks Youth team Fin Jones was named MVP, Oliver Chester Lewis the Coaches Player of the Year and Sam Butterwick the Players Player.

Harrison Reed and Connor Perrett won the Offensive and Defensive MVP awards respectively, Alex Gedny picked up the award for Offensive Rookie of the Year and Rom Dougla was named Defensive Rookie of the year.

Oliver Crampton won the Most Improved Player award, and the first recipient of the Dhesi Award – presented to the player who best promoted the spirit of the sport and named in memory of former MK Pathfinders, Peterborough Saxons and Northampton Nemesis player Jay Dhesi – went to Harrison Smith.

For the Blackhawks Flag team Matthew Couldridge was named MVP, Jake Cooper Offensive MVP, Jed Parisi the Defensive MVP and Zech Smith picked up an award for Exceptional Contribution.

Kase Chibwe and Stu Holland were the big winners for the Eagles. Chibwe was named Team MVP and Players Player of the Year, and Holland won the Offensive and Special Teams MVP awards as well as Lineman of the Year.

Mike Turner is the Defensive MVP, Ryan Bowtell the Most Improved Player and Stuart Cooper won the inaugural Coaches Award.

2017 Winners

Bedford Blackhawks Youth

MVP – Fin Jones
Coaches Player – Oliver Chester Lewis
Players Player – Sam Butterwick
Offensive MVP – Harrison Reed
Defensive MVP – Connor Perrett
Offensive Rookie of the Year – Alex Gedny
Defensive Rookie of the Year – Rom Dougla
Most Improved Player – Oliver Crampton
Dhesi Award – Harrison Smith

Bedford Blackhawks Flag

MVP – Matthew Couldridge
Offensive MVP – Jake Cooper
Defensive MVP – Jed Parisi
Exceptional Contribution – Zech Smith

Ouse Valley Eagles Senior

MVP – Kase Chibwe
Players Player – Kase Chibwe
Coaches Award – Stuart Cooper
Offensive MVP – Stuart Holland
Defensive MVP – Mike Turner
Special Teams MVP – Stuart Holland
Lineman of the Year – Stuart Holland
Rookie of the Year – Bobby Benney
Most Improved Player – Ryan Bowtell

The Eagles and Blackhawks are running a series of Open Sessions throughout November in Bedford, Milton Keynes, Luton and Northampton, aimed at anyone interested in playing for the club during the 2018 season. Click here for more information.